Baked Falafel with Feta Dip

Standard

20140409-093706.jpg

I love falafel. It’s my go-to festival food and I’ve made it a few times myself. I’ve always used the falafel mix from a box and then fried it in an obscene amount of oil. Thankfully I stumbled across this great recipe for baked falafel from How Sweet It Is and I don’t think I can go back to the box mix now.

The recipe says this should take a total of 30 minutes but it took me about an hour. This is mostly because I have a terrible food processor and I kept having to switch back and forth between that and my blender. The next item on my shopping list!! Despite it all these came out great and the feta dip went along with them perfectly.

Falafel Ingredients

2 (14 oz) cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
4 garlic cloves, chopped
4 green onions, sliced
1 large egg
1 lemon, juiced
1/3 cup fresh parsley, chopped
1/3 cup fresh cilantro, chopped *I didn’t have fresh cilantro so I used a teaspoon of dried
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/4 cup whole wheat or all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder

20140409-093656.jpgMethod for Falafel

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

In a food processor, combine the chickpeas, garlic, onions, egg, lemon juice, parsley, cilantro, oil, salt, pepper, cumin and paprika. Pulse a few times until crumbly but not pureed. Add in half of the flour and baking powder and pulse a few more times until combine. Repeat with remaining flour and baking powder. *I forgot to add in the second half of the flour and baking powder. They turned out fine anyway.

Once the mixture is combined, scoop out about 2 tablespoons worth and form it into a small patty or ball. Place the falafel on a baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes, until slightly crisp on top and cooked through.

Spicy Feta Dip Ingredients

1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
8 ounces feta, crumbled
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
fresh parsley + crushed red pepper for garnish

Method for Spicy Feta Dip

In the same food processor (I just wipe/wash mine out while the falafel are baking), add the yogurt, feta, olive oil, salt, pepper and cayenne. Pulse and blend until combined, scraping down the sides if needed. I don’t blend the feta completely because I like a bit of texture, but you can do so if you’d like. Scoop the feta into a bowl and give it an extra drizzle of olive oil. Garnish with the parsley and a sprinkle of crushed red pepper.

To read more about my Vegetarian Lent Challenge, click here.

 

One thought on “Baked Falafel with Feta Dip

  1. Pingback: truckin’ along – days 31-35 | Linny V

Leave a Reply

