Graduation.

Standard

Given my background and where I come from, graduating college was not something I expected of myself. Now nearly twenty years of academia come to a close. I am happy to have accomplished as much as I have these past few years. After a rough start my first couple of semesters in college I’ve been able to raise my GPA to about a 3.3, possible Cum Laude status, and a coveted spot on the Dean’s list. I’m proud to say that I put myself through school when I didn’t have to and sometimes didn’t want to. The few people that did help me out when I needed it I am extremely grateful to have in my life. I am grateful to my parents for never expecting less of me and always giving me a boost (or a swift kick in the pants) when I needed it, and helping me out when they were able to, and even when they weren’t. I am also extremely grateful to Ryan who has supported me for five of my six and a half years in college. Without your understanding and patience I’m not sure I would have made it through. And to the rest of my family and friends who gave me unconditional support and never stopped believing I would one day finish what seemed like a never-ending journey, I love you and I thank you.

It’s going to be strange not having to work a school schedule around work or vice-versa. What am I going to do night after night without the pressure of an upcoming exam or a strenuous paper? I’d be lying if I said I haven’t already been looking at certification classes offered at the community college and even some graduate programs. I guess it all still seems a little surreal to me. However, I’m going to try to soak up every moment.

4 thoughts on “Graduation.

  1. You are an amazing woman. I am so proud of you and love you more than words can express. Seems like just yesterday you were starting kindergarten.

  2. Fantastic! As are you. Don’t know for sure that you ever realized how much love you took with you where ever you were.
    Grandme

  3. Wow,brains, talent,beauty, and humble to boot! Where’d you get that from? Seriously,I whole-heartedly agree with all the fine women above and couldn’t be prouder.
    You are a jewel. One of the brightest,most decent, thoughtful, compassionate, and fun persons I have the pleasure to know. And I know a few.
    You take a while and bask in the glow of this accomplishment. It is all yours. I love you, salute you, and admire you, always.
    Sincerely,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

