Happy New Year!

Standard


“Farewell and good riddance you dirty old year
I wouldn’t give tuppence to keep you round here
But if I had the cost to stand two pints of beer
I’d drink to your never returnin’

If I’d been forewarned of your stealthy attacks
I’d turn you my shoulder and give you my back
At the base of my skull you could bury an axe
Then I’d quit all this grievin’ and yearnin’

Ah, but you’ve done your worst and yet here I still stand
I brush you aside with a wave of my hand
Now the hour is waning, a few grains of sand,
You’ll be gone the world still will be turnin’

Now your pretty young sister is welcome to stay
As fresh as a snowfall in January
But dispatch her we will some late December day,
Back to Daddy with cheeks and ears burnin’

Farewell and good riddance you dirty old year
I wouldn’t give tuppence to keep you round here
But if I had the cost to stand two pints of beer
I’d drink to your never returnin'”

– “The New Auld Lang Syne” by Jimmy Catlett

Leave a Reply

