Serbian leek cakes (cooking project – day 4)

Standard

Another great benefit of cooking so much is we get to eat the leftovers for lunch the next day.  I had last night’s fettuccine today and if I wasn’t at work I would’ve added a little cream or milk to the noodles to make the sauce creamy again.  It was still good without it though.

Tonight’s dish was Serbian leek cakes from 1001 Low-Fat Vegetarian Recipes.  I was pretty nervous about this one since it’s out of my comfort zone and involved many steps (and pots!)  Basically, you make this ‘cake’ by starting with a layer of leek pancake, then adding a layer of vegetarian sausage and onion, and then adding another leek pancake, and so on.  You top it all off with a layer of sour cream and Swiss, and then bake it until the cheese browns. 

I started by chopping up everything that I would need (didn’t even need a husband this time) and then seperated the ingredients.  You cook the leeks in broth seperate from the sausage, onion and pepper. The leeks chopped up beautifully and when cooked in the broth, smelled delicious. I thought it was all off to a promising start.

diced veggie sausage

And then came the sausage.  I thought I would buy some of the ‘fancier’ veggie sausage links for the recipe, not realizing that they would just have to be crumbled anyway.  Some Morningstar veggie sausage patties  probably would’ve crumbled much better than the thick, gummy sausage links I had bought.  Rather than being ‘crumbled’, my sausage was more diced, and ended up resembling cat food. 

Once everything was chopped up, I started making the leek cakes which are actually kind of like an onion version of a latke (yum!). The idea is to make the cakes big enough to fit into a 9″ pie pan. Once you have the size down, you just have to cook it a few minutes on each side until it’s brown and then repeat the whole process two more times. 

the mo-fo spatula

Tip: If you don’t have a big mo-fo spatula, you should get one. We got one for our wedding and I love it. This thing has come in handy for me so many times whether it’s for fish, pancakes, leek cakes, etc.  

The sausage, pepper and onions were cooked seperately until the onions were tender.  Once everything was done, I layered my cake in the pie pan, topped it with the sour cream and cheese, and threw it in the oven.  After about 30 minutes of me going back and forth on whether or not I should make chocolate pudding and instead snacking on some chips and salsa – the cheese was browned, ergo cake done.

Serbian leek cake

I’m not going to lie and say it didn’t look like a bowl of dog food, but it smelled delicious.  It cut nicely into four large pieces and for the most part held together all the way to the plate. Now comes the moment of truth.

From the first bite, I realized three things: I don’t like gummy veggie sausage, I’ve never been crazy about Swiss cheese and cooked sour cream kind of freaks me out.  I like the leek cakes, but it’s all the rest I wasn’t too crazy about.  The hubby seemed to like it and cleaned his plate.  Between his grade of a ‘B’ and my grade of a ‘D’, this dish gets an average ‘C’. 

So today I am without leftovers for lunch. Panera anyone?

Next week: pastichio (1001 Low-Fat Vegetarian Recipes)

2 thoughts on “Serbian leek cakes (cooking project – day 4)

  1. Pingback: cooking project – day 7 « Linny V’s Blog

  2. Pingback: two bean soup with kale (cooking project – day 30) « Linny V’s Blog

Leave a Reply

