sweet potato cakes (cooking project – day 6)

Standard

Mandolin slicer = awesome shredding action

The more I cook at home, the less I like to go out to eat. Over the past week we’ve been to festivals and family birthday dinners and between indulging in a funnel cake and ordering the $15 pasta entrée from the local Italian restaurant, I really miss the simple dishes of home…and so does my waist line.

Tonight I made sweet potato cakes with fresh green beans.  The recipe for the sweet potato cake comes from 1001 Low-Fat Vegetarian Recipes and the green beans are prepared the same way they were with the pan-seared tilapia

I was excited about this recipe because I imagined them to taste like a latke with a slightly sweeter edge. Plus I’ve been trying to convince my husband for years that you can do more with sweet potatoes than just cover them with butter and sugar.  The “cake” consists of shredded sweet potato, regular potato, carrot and some diced onion (plus some spice).

Tip: I used a Mandolin slicer to shred all the veggies and it worked beautifully.  And I avoided shredding my knuckles!

Once all the veggies were shredded, diced and mixed with the egg and flour, I placed half the mixture into my handy-dandy iron skillet, patted it down into a round cake-ish form, and cooked it for about 8 minutes per side until it appeared brown and crispy on both sides.  Repeat the process and voila – two sweet potato cakes were born.  The book says that this recipe only makes two servings but the cakes were so big that we were able to make them into four.  I strategically cooked the green beans at the same time so they could both be served together at maximum deliciousness. 

The recipe also says to serve the cakes with some sour cream on top, which I opted out of.  Perhaps it was wrong of me, but I was expecting the cake to taste more like a latke and to be crispy like one. But instead it ended up being mushy and tasted too sweet, probably because of the carrots.  In my opinion, the recipe would be better with a more equal sweet potato/regular potato ratio, more spices and no carrots.  The husband enjoyed it because it meant he could smother something in sour cream.  He gave the recipe a ‘C’ (husband’s warning: be prepared for a lot of gas!), and since I didn’t dislike it as much as the Serbian leek cake, I gave it a ‘C’ also. 

Tomorrow: pastichio (1001 Low-Fat Vegetarian Recipes)

Leave a Reply

