hasty stew (cooking project – day 9)

Standard

I’ve been away from my project for a while due to a work trip.  Honestly, after eating out for every meal for four straight days, I couldn’t wait to get back to my kitchen.  However, since I’m still tired from the weekend, I wanted to make something fairly simple.

Tonight I used the recipe for “Hasty Stew” from 1001 Low-Fat Vegetarian Recipes.  I couldn’t follow the ingredients list exactly as my hubby can’t eat mushrooms or cauliflower, but there were so many veggies still left on the list that you hardly notice they’re missing.  The book also says to serve the stew with cous cous but I didnt’ think we needed it.  The idea of serving dinner in a bowl AND a side-plate is too intimidating for a Monday night.

First I chopped up the zucchini, squash, potatoes, onions, tomatoes and some fresh parsley I had leftover from last week’s stroganoff recipe.  (I love it when you can use the same ingredient for multiple recipes!)  I cooked the garlic, onion and spices in the large sauce pot as it said to do and it looked and smelled awesome. When it came time to put the rest of the ingredients in, I quickly realized that the veggie/broth ratio wasn’t quite right.  The amount of liquid the recipe called for only covered half of the vegetables in the pot, and the pot was filled to the brim.

After switching to a larger soup pot, and adding some more broth, I brought it to a boil and then let it simmer for about 10 minutes.  The stew was very tasty and hearty for a lazy Monday night meal and it was easy enough to make once you finesse the quantities a bit.  This makes a lot of soup – we were able to get five servings and still had a quart leftover to freeze. 

Tip: We save plastic chinese wonton containers for freezing soup. It’s the perfect amount for two people.

 The hubby ate two servings and took it to work today for lunch. Based on that reaction, I think this recipe gets a B+.

Tomorrow: Vegetable Paprikash (1001 Low-Fat Vegetarian Recipes)

Leave a Reply

