shepherd’s veggie pie (cooking project – day 14)

Standard

After a couple days off of the project I’m ready to come back in full force and start another cooking bonanza! 

Tonight’s meal was shepherd’s veggie pie from 1001 Low-Fat Vegetarian Recipes.  I made a different version of this about a year ago with ground chicken and sweet potatoes so I knew from experience it was going to require a lot of steps.  The recipe calls for lots of ingredients including onion, green pepper, carrots, cabbage, peas, potato, garlic, sage, thyme, vegetable broth, flour and cold water.  Plus you need to have some pre-made mash potatoes to go on top of the “pie”.  I didn’t have any pre-made but it only took me about 25 minute to whip some up.

Seperate the onion, green pepper, garlic and herbs from the potatoes, carrots and cabbage.  Cook the onion mixture first for about five minutes until they are tender and then add the potato mixture with the broth and simmer for about 15 minutes.  Finally bring it all to a boil and add the flour and some cold water until it’s thickened a bit. 

Spoon the mixture into a casserole dish (I don’t have a soufflé dish – and I doubt it would all fit into one anyway) and cover with the mashed potatoes.  Then drizzle some melted butter on top and sprinkle some paprika and bake for about 30 mintues until potatoes start to brown on top.

For some reason my pie’s liquid boiled over the potatoes while it was baking. I put in exactly the amount of broth and water the recipe called for but it still seems like it was too much.  I didn’t get the picturesque shepherd’s pie I was hoping for but it’s not like I was presenting it to royalty anyway. 

I spooned out our portions onto plates and it basically translated to mashed potatoes with vegetables and gravy.  It was pretty bland so with some more spice and less liquid, I think it could make a pretty tasty family meal.  With a little salt and pepper, it made some pretty good comfort food on a chilly November evening. This recipe gets a B-.

Leave a Reply

