vegetable risotto (cooking project – day 15)

Standard

I’ve been neglecting my blogging duties. Shame on me.

Last week we made vegetable risotto from The Classic 1000 Beginners’ Recipes.  I’ve never cooked risotto before but I’ve heard there’s usually a complicated process of toasting the rice in the pan and then slowly adding bits of liquid for the rice to absorb until eventually you get a mushy, yet crispy result. I couldn’t remember what risotta tasted like so I couldn’t comment on whether this is the right method or not.  However, the recipe I used wasn’t complicated at all. 

The hardest bit was just chopping up all the vegetables which included onion, zucchini, squash, and garlic. Cook the veggies by themselves for a few, then add the rice and stir for one minute.  Finally add the liquid and tomato.  Simmer this mixture for about 20 minutes and you’re done! Molto semplice!

The result was delicious and the rice wasn’t crunchy at all.  The recipe says to serve it with cheddar cheese but I don’t think it needs it.  I even brought the leftovers to my grandmother’s house the next day and she thought it was great. If Grandma likes it, it’s gotta get an A!

Leave a Reply

