chicken broccoli casserole (cooking project – day 21)

Standard

I know I’ve been slacking on my blog project…again…but now I can finally announce that what’s been keeping us so busy is we’re expecting a baby!

Besides driving ourselves crazy with doctor appointments and home repairs, I haven’t had much of an appetite or energy for cooking these past few weeks. Hence the “bloglessness”. However, now that we’re in the 2nd trimester, my energy is returning and my appetite is coming back so let the cooking come back!

Since I’ve been feeling so much better lately, I really wanted some good comfort food.  Earlier this week, I made chicken broccoli casserole, a favorite recipe I inherited from my mother.  You need:

3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, diced or cubed
1 bag frozen broccoli, thawed and drained
1 can cream of chicken soup (originally was cream of mushroom, but hubby can’t have that)
1 large spoonful of mayonnaise
1 – 1 1/2 pack(s) of mozzarella cheese (I use cheese singles with some shredded on top)
Garlic powder
Paprika
Pepper
Curry

After you dice or cube the chicken into bite size pieces, stir-fry them in a little oil in a skillet. For extra flavor, I like to add some garlic powder, paprika, pepper and a little curry at this stage.  Once the chicken is cooked through, spoon it into a mixing bowl so you leave most of the grease behind in the pan. Add the broccoli, soup and mayo to the bowl as well. Mix it all together and add more of the spices. Finally, pour the mixture into a lasagna pan and cover with mozzarella. Sprinkle a little curry on top of the cheese. Bake in the oven at 350° for about 30 minutes, or until the cheese starts to get brown and bubbly. Spoon casserole over white rice and serve.

This was one of my favorite meals growing up and still is today.  And I think the baby likes it too!

Leave a Reply

