cherry tomatoes…twice! (cooking project – day 26 & 27)

Standard

So much for being back on top of my game with this blog. I’ve been cooking – just haven’t had time to write it all down! The baby’s not even here yet and we’re already busy bees.

This week I was dreaming of how we’ll soon be cooking on the grill and I think that’s what made me crave some roasted cherry tomatoes.  We got a huge case of them at the grocery and used them for two meals – so good!

For the first night, I pulled a recipe off of myrecipes.com for “Salmon with Roasted Cherry Tomatoes” which I served with some jasmine rice and peas. The recipe for the salmon is:

Ingredients:
2 cups cherry tomatoes
1 1/2 tsp. fresh thyme (I didn’t have fresh, so just used 1/2 tsp. of dry)
1 tsp. olive oil
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
2 garlic cloves, minced (or more)
Cooking spray
2 salmon fillets
2 tbsp. lemon juice

Combine tomatoes, thyme, olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic in a pan coated with cooking spray and toss. I used a baking pan, but a small glass dish probably would’ve worked just as well. Bake the tomato mixture at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.  Then add the fish to the pan and bake an additional 10 minutes or so until it’s done. Serve the tomato mixture over the fish and drizzle with the lemon juice.  So easy and so tasty!

The next night I wanted to make a fresher version of a cappellini napoletano (angel hair pasta with basil, garlic and tomato sauce) dish that we get at one of the local restaurants we frequent.  I honestly can’t remember all that I did since I basically made it up as I went along.

I think I used oil, cherry tomatoes sliced in half, onion, garlic, fresh parsley, some white wine, and some red pepper flakes. Then I  sauteed all of the ingredients in a pan until the onions and tomatoes start to soften. Finally, I served the tomato mixture over angel hair pasta, sprinkled some parmesan on top and served with a yummy side salad. Delicioso!

And finally – some praise for my husband, the best breakfast chef around. You know how to make veggie bacon crispy enough to make me think I’m eating the real thing, and you make my coffee and eggs just right – both very important. You’re the best!

Leave a Reply

