chicken cutlets with grape tomatoes

Standard

I had a craving for some sautéed tomatoes, so I pulled out a recipe I tried a while ago and really liked. It’s another RealSimple recipe (love that site!) – chicken cutlets with tomato saute.  It’s listed on their site under “30 no-fail chicken dinners” and it really is hard to mess this one up.

Quick unsolicited endorsement: Since we don’t eat a lot of meat, I tend to be pretty picky about the meat that we do get. I’ve found that Trader Joe’s has pretty good frozen chicken breasts.  They’re not as fatty as some I get at the regular grocery store and I haven’t had any with grizzle. I’ve been getting the big bag of frozen breast-halves and just defrosting some as needed.  I also really, really like their frozen fish selection.

Ingredients
4 chicken breast halves
Salt & Pepper
2 tbsp. olive oil
1 1/2 pints grape tomatoes
3/4 cup dry white wine
4 scallions
2 tbsp. fresh tarragon leaves


Method
1. Season chicken with salt and pepper and heat oil in skillet over medium to medium-high heat.
2. Cook chicken in skillet until browned and cooked through, about 2 to 3 minutes per side. Transfer to plates.
3. Add tomatoes to skillet and cook until they begin to burst, about 2 to 3 minutes.
4. Add the wine and simmer until liquid is reduced by half, another 2 to 3 minutes.
5. Stir in scallions and tarragon and serve with chicken.

I might have been misled by the picture, but I kept the chicken in the pan while I was cooking the tomatoes and the wine.  It still turned out fine, so I think either method will work – at least this way the chicken won’t go cold. I served this over top of some brown rice.



Leave a Reply

