vegetable stew with brown rice

Standard

It’s Super Bowl Sunday and nothing says football like some veggie stew, right? Right?

Yeah well, I’ve never been a sports person anyway. I spend all year complaining about commercials and then watch the game solely for the targeted advertising. How American of me.

The boy was being pretty cranky this weekend so I was really hoping for another slow-cooker meal that I could throw together and forget about for six to eight hours. Luckily when I plan out meals at the beginning of the week I usually factor in a couple “bail-out” meals.

Today I chose yet another RealSimple recipe for vegetable stew to serve with brown rice:

Ingredients
4 carrots, diced
2 medium turnips, peeled and cubed
1 onion, diced
2 garlic cloves
1 14-ounce can diced tomatoes
1 cup vegetable stock
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 zucchini, sliced
1 16-ounce can chickpeas, drained

Method
1. Combine everything but the zucchini and chickpeas and cook on low for six hours.
2. Add zucchini and chickpeas and cook for one more hour.

The only modifications I made were to add some celery, a green pepper and another can of chickpeas. Everything was ready by game time and it was grubalicious.

Although we didn’t have all the traditional Super Bowl fare, we still did our share of pigging out on potato chips, ginger snaps and grapes. I’m told grapes don’t count, though

Leave a Reply

