spicy tilapia with saffron rice and fajita veggies

Standard

Tilapia is one of my favorite types of fish because it’s light, picks up whatever flavor you apply to it and doesn’t taste “fishy”.  I defrosted the fillets tonight with no real plan for what I was going to do.  After taking a pantry inventory, I ultimately decided to make a spicy type of fish that would pair well with some yellow saffron rice and some Mexican-style fajita veggies.  Here’s what I used:

Fish ingredients
Tilapia fillets
cayenne pepper
white pepper
paprika
garlic powder
salt & pepper

Rice ingredients
1 packet of yellow rice
1 can of pigeon peas, drained and rinsed

Vegetable ingredients
1 tbsp. olive oil
1/2 onion, diced
1 green pepper, diced
1 squash, cubed
1 zucchini, cubed
Adobo seasoning (optional)

Method
1. Cook rice according to package instructions, adding pigeon peas to mix. (I cooked ours in a rice cooker).
2. While rice is cooking, sprinkle desired amount of spices on fish, both sides.  Place fillets in a sprayed baking dish and bake in a 400 degrees oven for about 10 minutes until fish is white and flakes with a fork.
3. While fish is cooking, heat oil in a skillet for the vegetables. Saute the onion and pepper in the pan until the onion starts to get soft, and then add the zucchini and squash and cook for another 3-5 minutes.  Sprinkle some seasoning on the vegetables if you want to add some extra flavor.

Wowee! I set out to make some spicy fish, but didn’t realize how spicy I was making it! My husband loved it as he’s a hot spice nut.  I on the other hand out-spiced myself and couldn’t eat the fish, no matter how good it looked. I’m thinking I used way too much cayenne pepper – I think I assumed it was going to taste more like paprika.  At least the rice and veggies were delicious and filling so I wasn’t left starving.

Leave a Reply

