chicken noodle soup…cough cough

Standard

Yesterday I was feeling worse than under the weather – I was pummeled by it. It was the cold from Hell and I was left defenseless since nursing mothers can only grin and bear it. And maybe take a couple tylenol.

Luckily I have a pretty great husband who doubles as a pretty great nurse.  My appetite was non-existent but I knew I had to eat something if I hoped to get any better any time soon. I put in my request for some chicken noodle soup and this is what he whipped up:

Ingredients
3 cups chicken broth
1/2 box thin spaghetti
1/2 onion, chopped
4 scallions, chopped
1 cup carrots chopped
Oregano
Basil
Crushed red pepper
Butter

Method
1. Melt some butter in a soup pot and saute the onion until soft. 
2. Add the broth and remaining vegetables and spices and bring to a boil. Add noodles and simmer until noodles are done.

The soup was delicious, and more flavorful than expected since very few spices were added to it. The thin spaghetti noodles made it seem similar to pho (my newest obsession!).  I’m looking forward to having this again, just hopefully when I can breathe through my nose rather than taking in deep breaths between bites.  It was all I could do to snap a picture of the soup from the couch.

Leave a Reply

