Mexican chicken and Jason Alexander

Standard

Full disclaimer – I am not Mexican, just like I am not Cuban. So again, please cut me some slack on the authenticity of this meal.

Crock-pot meals are a god-send to any working parent. They’re just too easy. I’m constantly on the lookout for new slow cooker recipes, so if you know of any good ones, please let me know!

Ingredients
2 lbs. chicken breasts
8 oz. cream cheese, cut into cubes
1 can black beans, drained
1 can corn, drained
16 oz. jar of salsa

Method
1. Throw it all in the crock pot, and cook on low for 6-8 hours. That’s it.

I served the chicken over some white rice that I cooked in the rice cooker when I got home and a side of avocado salad. For the salad I just chopped up some red bell pepper, tomato, red onion (super strong!), some fresh cilantro and an avocado and mixed it all together. It probably would’ve been great with some lime juice but we didn’t have any, darn it.

Of course everything was delicious – it’s a whole block of cream cheese mixed with beans, corn and chicken – what’s not to like? The salad was a nice compliment to the chicken and the avocado gave it a nice hint of upcoming warmer months.

My husband said the mix of the cool salad and warm chicken was like my very own McDLT.  I had never heard of a McDLT so when I looked it up, I was delighted to find this:

Yup – that’s Jason Alexander (with hair!) singing about a burger with lettuce and tomato in some complicated packaging.  Truly awesome.

Leave a Reply

