caramelized chicken and a mini-rant

Standard

 

I finally got to try a recipe from my brand new cookbook and I’m so glad it worked out!

Ingredients for marinade
1 tsp. thyme
2 tbsp. brown sugar
3 tbsp. worcestshire sauce
1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar
2 tbsp. soy sauce
2 tbsp. ketchup
3 tbsp. olive oil

Other ingredients
4 chicken legs
* I used a pack containing 2 breasts and 4 drumsticks
4 red onions, cut into wedges
10 cherry tomatoes on vine
*I used a pint of grape tomatoes

Method
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Put all marinade ingredients in a big plastic bag and add the chicken and onion wedges. Shake around so that all the ingredients get well coated in the marinade.
2. When you are ready to cook, put the chicken legs into a roasting dish with the marinade, onions, and tomatoes. Cook in the oven for 15 to 30 minutes until the chicken is cooked through. The tomatoes should burst and the onions will go crispy around the edges.

The author suggests serving the chicken with baked potatoes, but I opted to serve it with some green beans (which I added a little curry to) and some leftover grilled veggies.  The meal was very good – especially the marinade.  As the title of the cookbook suggests, it proved to be a very nice weeknight meal.

Now if I can just figure out how to make it without the chicken…

*Mini-Rant* I have to say, the less I cook meat, the stranger it is to me. My husband and I are flexitarians, which means we eat a mostly plant-based diet and we really only eat fish and chicken as far as meat goes. We’re probably at the point now where I’ll cook chicken at home once or twice a month at most.  It’s almost becoming a hassle to cook meat because you have to worry about contaminating your cutting boards and making sure that any parts of the meat you cut away go to the outside trash-can so it doesn’t stink up your house. It’s not like you can throw it in your compost. So when I do cook meat, I like to touch it as little as possible as the consistency and look of it are almost becoming alien to me.

That being said, once the chicken was cooked, it was beautiful and tasted quite good. And for once the dish resembled the picture in the cookbook!

 

Leave a Reply

