the post you’ve been waiting for – guiltless chocolate cake

Standard

In my last blog post, I mentioned a recipe my girlfriend wanted to try for a chocolate cake that was half the calories of the traditional cake from the box.  It was a recipe she had found on Pinterest and we were both excited to try it out.

I am about to blow your mind.

How can you make a “healthy” chocolate cake and have it taste just as good – if not better – than the full calorie version?  It’s much easier than you think.

No, it’s not made entirely of Splenda.
No, it’s not filled with air.
The secret is…are you ready?
Greek yogurt!

Ingredients
1 box chocolate cake mix
1 cup of water
1 cup of Greek yogurt.

Method
1. Mix all ingredients together.
2. Bake that s***!

I’ll admit, I was skeptical about this turning out any good. The cake turned out beautiful and moist and better than any straight from the box cake I’ve ever had. Forget eggs and milk – I’m using Greek yogurt from now on!  And do you know the best part? Since there’s no worry of salmonella poisoning, you can lick all the spoons you want!

And compare the 180 calorie per slice yogurt version to the 260 calorie prepared-per-box-directions version. Come on!

When my friend left all the leftovers for me, I didn’t protest. My husband and I ate on this cake for a few days – and I didn’t feel the least bit guilty about it.

2 thoughts on “the post you’ve been waiting for – guiltless chocolate cake

Leave a Reply

