one of those Brilliant! moments

Standard

It’s no secret that I love making breakfast for dinner. However, I wanted to let you know of a new trick I’ve discovered for making “breakfast” that much more delicious.

I love hashbrowns, but I’ve always hated cooking them. First off, it’s a pain in the a** to peel and grate the potatoes, so I just buy them frozen pre-shredded. And then you get them all in the pan and try to brown them evenly, but they never do, so you add so much oil to get them to fry that they come out a greasy, limpy mess. And you try to fix that by baking them in the oven (that you didn’t pre-heat) to get them to crisp up a little. And by the time you’ve done all of this, two hours have gone by and you’re snapping at your husband because you’re angry and hungry.    Sound familiar?

Well, put all that behind you because I have the solution!

Two words: waffle iron.  Turn your waffle iron on (I had mine on high), spray it with some cooking spray or grease it with butter, add some shredded potatoes, and cook for about 8-10 minutes until potatoes begin to brown.  The potatoes cook evenly and aren’t greasy. Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

