The Green Leaf – day 9

Standard

Today was the first day since I started this that I had a meat craving. I had to run some errands at lunch and let myself get too hungry. I was craving Whoppers and Big Macs. Through my internal dialogue I realized Taco Bell had bean burritos so I could stay meatless and still give into my fast food craving. Then like a gleaming beacon what appeared in front of me as I continued driving was a big green sign that read “The Green Leaf, Vegetarian Restaurant“.

20140313-211626.jpg

Oh yeah! I had forgot about this place. We tried it when they first opened and thought the food was good but just hadn’t had the occasion to go back. I went in to place my to-go order and the very nice hostess helped me find the lunch specials on their menu. I ordered the ‘colorful vegetable fried rice’ with wonton soup. The wonton soup was good with a mild broth, little toasted tofu pieces and vegetable dumplings – perfect for this chilly day. The fried rice was full of fresh veggies including carrots, peas, corn, lima beans, onions, pineapple, and green beans.

I’ll definitely go back and try some of the more interesting offerings from their menu such as the “Taste of Compassion” (Kale, broccoli, bok choy, water crest, and snow peas in light ginger sauce and topped with chickpeas). They also have really good fruit smoothies if you need a fix.

To read more about my Vegetarian Lent Challenge, click here.

Leave a Reply

